Apps for Spanish
Best app to learn Spanish: every app that teaches it, compared
Spanish is the language almost every app leads with, so the question is not which app teaches it but which one fits how you will learn. The table holds every app whose vendor lists Spanish, sorted by published price per month at annual billing. The verdicts underneath sort them a different way: by the learner.
23 of the 24 apps in the dataset list Spanish; 17 of them have a free tier. Sorted by price per month at annual billing; newest read 2026-09-06.
Links to apps on this page are plain, untracked links to the vendor. This site is funded by affiliate links: if an app's programme is joined, its link will earn a commission at no cost to you and will be listed on the affiliate disclosure page. Commercial relationships never affect order or inclusion; tables sort by price. Affiliate disclosure and how the data is collected.
Every app that teaches Spanish
| Type | Lifetime | Free tier | Speech | Tutor | Offline | CEFR stated | Refund or trial | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| uTalkPhrase and vocabulary games with native-speaker audio in many languages | Vocabulary and flashcards | $2.50annual total not printed | $4.99 | none | Starter Words, a free 26-word pack in every language, plus an online demo at demo.utalk.com | No | No | Yes | not stated | 28-day money-back guarantee |
| TandemLanguage exchange with native speakers; the paid tier adds translation and visibility | Language exchange | $3.33$39.99 a year | not published | none | Free account with many features; Tandem Pro unlocks the rest | No | No | Not stated | not stated | Google Play purchases refundable within 14 days of a 1-month subscription or 30 days of a 3-month or 12-month subscription; iOS refunds requested from iTunes within 14 days |
| MondlyShort daily lessons across many languages, with a chatbot | Course app | $4$47.99 a year | $9.99 | none | Free version with Daily Lessons, the Hello category and a chatbot lesson. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | not stated | 7-day free trial |
| MemriseShort video clips of native speakers plus spaced-repetition review | Vocabulary and flashcards | $5.17$61.99 a year | $24.99 | $329.99 | Limited free version of the app; the paid plan unlocks the rest. | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | not stated | not stated |
| DropsFive-minute visual vocabulary sessions | Vocabulary and flashcards | $5.83$69.99 a year | $12.99 | $159.99 | Free access capped at 5 minutes of play every 10 hours, with topics unlocked one at a time through gameplay | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | not stated | 7-day free trial on the Yearly plan; affiliate terms reference a 14-day refund period |
| BusuuCourse app with corrections from native speakers and CEFR-labelled levels | Course app | $6.08$72.99 a year | not published | none | Free account with limited features; paid tiers remove ads and add review tools. | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated |
| ClozemasterFill-in-the-blank sentences for vocabulary in context | Vocabulary and flashcards | $6.67$79.99 a year | $12.99 | none | Free account with unlimited play; Pro unlocks advanced features | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | not stated | 30-day money back guarantee on the Yearly plan; no refunds on Monthly plans |
| HelloTalkChat and call with native speakers; the paid tier lifts limits | Language exchange | $6.67$79.99 a year | $12.99 | none | Free account with ads and daily limits (for example ten translations a day); occasional randomly offered 3-day VIP trials | Yes | No | Yes | not stated | Occasional randomly offered 3-day free VIP trial; refunds handled by Apple or Google for in-app purchases |
| LingvistAdaptive vocabulary drilling in sentence context | Vocabulary and flashcards | $6.67$79.99 a year | $9.99 | none | Free level placement before subscribing, and a 14-day free trial on the annual plan; the monthly plan has no trial | Yes | No | Not stated | not stated | 14-day free trial on the annual plan; cancel before it ends and you are not charged |
| SpeakAI-led speaking practice with feedback on what you said | AI conversation practice | $7$83.99 a year | $17.99 | none | 7-day free trial; no permanently free tier is published | Yes | No | Not stated | not stated | 7-day free trial; refunds for App Store and Google Play purchases go through Apple or Google, and website purchases through Speak support |
| BabbelShort structured lessons with grammar notes and review sessions | Course app | $8.95$107.40 a year | $17.99 | $299.99 | Free account; the first lesson of every course is free, and up to 80 free lessons depending on the language. | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | A1 to C1 | not stated |
| LingQRead and listen to real content, save words, review them | Immersion (video, reading) | $10$119.99 a year | $14.99 | none | Free account capped at 20 saved words and phrases, 5 lessons created from imported content, and 1 audio playlist | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated |
| Mango LanguagesConversation-based courses, often free through a library card | Course app | $10annual total not printed | $13.99 | none | Free trial on both personal plans; the first lesson of any language is free; 10 endangered and indigenous language courses are free; free full access through participating public libraries | No | No | Yes | not stated | Free trial on Individual and Family plans; cancel before it ends and you are not charged |
| LingCourse app with a focus on Asian and less-taught languages | Course app | $12.50$149.99 a year | $16.99 | none | Free tier with limited lessons and limited dialogue practice, with ads | Yes | Ling Live Online Tutor | Not stated | not stated | 7-day free trial on the 12-month plan; 30-day money-back refund for yearly and lifetime subscriptions bought via Ling web (app-store purchases follow Apple's or Google's refund policy) |
| Rosetta StoneImmersion-style lessons without translation, with speech scoring | Course app | $13.25$159 a year | $19.99 | none | Free sample lessons from the site (TRY A LESSON); no ongoing free plan is described on the pricing page. | Yes | Tutoring | Yes | not stated | 14-day money-back guarantee |
| PimsleurHalf-hour audio lessons built on spoken recall, made for commutes | Audio course | $13.75$164.95 a year | $19.95 | $150 | No | Yes | Not stated | Yes | not stated | 7-day free trial on subscriptions; 30 Day money back guarantee on purchases |
| LingopieTV and film with interactive subtitles and flashcards | Immersion (video, reading) | $13.98$167.80 a year | not published | $763 | No | Not stated | Lingopie Lessons | Not stated | not stated | 7-day free trial; yearly subscription is charged after the trial and cannot be refunded |
| GlossikaSentence-pattern audio drills with spaced repetition | Audio course | $16.58annual total not printed | $19.99 | none | 7-day full access with no credit card, plus a permanent Freemium tier covering nine minoritized languages | No | No | Yes | not stated | 7-day free trial with no credit card; monthly payments are non-refundable, annual plans refundable pro rata within 60 days of purchase |
| FluentUReal-world videos with interactive captions and quizzes | Immersion (video, reading) | $20$239.99 a year | $29.99 | none | No | Yes | Group classes (select languages) | Yes | not stated | 14-day free trial with no payment up front, plus a 20-day money-back guarantee |
| DuolingoGamified free lessons; paid tiers remove ads and add practice features | Course app | not published | not published | none | Full free tier with ads and limits; paid tiers remove ads and limits. | Not stated | No | Not stated | A1 to B2 | 1 week free trial on Super |
| italkiMarketplace of professional and community tutors, priced per lesson | Tutor marketplace | not publishedper lesson | sold differently | none | No | Not stated | italki (the whole product is 1-on-1 lessons; Group Class also sold) | Not stated | not stated | Discounted trial lesson with a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee: up to two credit refunds on trial lessons if the teacher did not show up or did not meet expectations, requested within 48 hours |
| LingodaLive online classes with teachers, structured by CEFR level | Tutor marketplace | €54.99Group classes, 4 classes | sold differently | none | Not stated | Not stated | Group classes and Private classes | Not stated | not stated | Free 7-day trial |
| PreplyMarketplace of private tutors, booked and paid per lesson | Tutor marketplace | $3 to $50per lesson | sold differently | none | No | Not stated | Preply (the whole product is 1-to-1 tutoring) | Not stated | not stated | Paid trial lesson; up to 2 free trial replacements per account if the trial did not meet expectations or the tutor did not attend |
Which one, for whom
You want to speak Spanish on a trip
Pimsleur for the commute, Babbel for the phrasebook you will actually use
Pimsleur is half-hour audio lessons built on saying things back, and it states offline mode and speech recognition; its Premium monthly plan for one language was $19.95 on the read date and comes with a 7-day free trial and a 30-day money-back guarantee. Babbel's lessons are built around the dialogues you would have, with speech recognition, at $17.99 for one month of one language on Apple's US store or $8.95 a month on its 12-month plan for all 14 languages. If your trip is in three months, either monthly plan is enough; cancel after.
You want to reach B1 or B2 and know when you have
Busuu, or Lingoda if you want a class
Busuu labels its Spanish course with CEFR levels and adds corrections from native speakers; Premium for 12 months was $72.99 on the read date, which is $6.08 a month for one language. Lingoda runs live group and private classes structured by CEFR level, sold as class packages priced in euros on the page this site could read (from €54.99 for four group classes in a four-week cycle), with a 7-day free trial. A course with named levels is the one you can plan an exam around.
You will not pay, at least not yet
Duolingo, with Busuu's or Mango's free layer beside it
Duolingo's free tier is its full Spanish course with ads and limits. Mango Languages states that the first lesson of any language is free and that many public libraries provide it free with a library card, which is the best-kept secret in this table. The free Spanish page lists what exactly is free on every app.
You want a human tutor and a predictable bill
Lingoda packages or a marketplace lesson count you fix in advance
For a fixed monthly figure with a person in the room, Lingoda's packages are the published option. For flexibility, Preply publishes a per-lesson filter of $3 to $50+ and italki prices each teacher separately. Decide how many lessons a week first; that number, not the app, sets the cost.
You read and listen more than you speak
LingQ or Lingopie, with Memrise for the words
LingQ turns real Spanish text and audio into lessons and was $10 a month on its 12-month plan on the read date, with a free account capped at 20 saved words. Lingopie is Spanish-language TV with interactive subtitles, at $13.98 a month on its yearly plan (a promotional $83.88 a year was showing) and no free tier beyond a 7-day trial. Memrise adds native-speaker clips and spaced repetition at $5.17 a month on its annual plan.
Questions people ask
What is the best app to learn Spanish?
There is no single best app; the table above shows every app that lists Spanish with its published price and stated features. For a trip, Pimsleur or Babbel; for a CEFR level, Busuu or Lingoda; for free, Duolingo; for a tutor, Lingoda's packages or Preply and italki per lesson; for reading and listening, LingQ or Lingopie.
What is the cheapest way to learn Spanish with an app?
Free: Duolingo's free tier, or Mango Languages through a library card. Paid: sort the table by price per month; on the read date the lowest published annual per-month figures for apps that list Spanish came from uTalk, Mondly, Tandem's introductory plan and Memrise's sale price, each for a different kind of product.
Which Spanish app has a free trial or refund?
The refund column in the table shows what each vendor states: for example Pimsleur's 7-day trial plus a 30-day money-back guarantee, Rosetta Stone's 14-day money-back guarantee, uTalk's 28-day money-back guarantee and Lingoda's 7-day free trial. Babbel states none on the pages read.