Vocabulary and flashcards
Memrise
Short video clips of native speakers plus spaced-repetition review. Vocabulary and phrase app built on spaced repetition, native-speaker video clips and AI speaking practice.
The cheapest published subscription works out to $5.17/mo (Annual, $61.99); the monthly plan is $24.99; a lifetime plan is $329.99 one-time.
Links to apps on this page are plain, untracked links to the vendor. This site is funded by affiliate links: if an app's programme is joined, its link will earn a commission at no cost to you and will be listed on the affiliate disclosure page. Commercial relationships never affect order or inclusion; tables sort by price. Affiliate disclosure and how the data is collected.
Published plans
Every consumer plan on Memrise's own pricing page or app-store listing on the read date, in US dollars unless marked. Per month is the plan price divided by its term; promotions are noted, never used for the figure.
| Plan | Billing | Price | Per month | Covers | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AnnualProShown as a flash-sale price ($61.99) next to a crossed-out $299.88, under a countdown reading 'Flash sale ends in 57:07'. The $299.88 reference equals 12 months at the $24.99 monthly rate; no separate regular annual price is published. Apple's US listing shows Annual Language Learning Plan $61.99. | Annual | $61.99 | $5.17/mo | all languages | vendor pageread 2026-09-06 |
| MonthlyProApple's US listing shows a matching in-app purchase, Monthly Language Learning Plan $24.99. | Monthly | $24.99 | $24.99/mo | all languages | vendor pageread 2026-09-06 |
| LifetimeProApple's US listing shows a matching in-app purchase, Lifetime Plan $329.99. | Lifetime | $329.99 | one-time | all languages | vendor pageread 2026-09-06 |
See current prices on Memrise's site
What Memrise publishes about itself
| Fact | As published | Source |
|---|---|---|
| CEFR levels stated | not stated (not stated by the vendor) | noneread 2026-09-06 |
| What it is | Vocabulary and flashcards. Vocabulary and phrase app built on spaced repetition, native-speaker video clips and AI speaking practice. | none |
| Languages offered | 149: Arabic, Chinese, Danish, Dutch, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese (Kanji), Japanese (Romaji), Korean, Mongolian, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Portuguese (BR), Portuguese (EU), Russian, Slovenian, Spanish, Spanish (Mexico), Swahili, Swedish, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Yoruba | vendor pageread 2026-09-06 |
| Free tier | Limited free version of the app; the paid plan unlocks the rest. | vendor pageread 2026-09-06 |
| Platforms | iOS, Android, Web | vendor pageread 2026-09-06 |
| Offline mode | Not stated | none |
| Speech recognition | Yes | vendor pageread 2026-09-06 |
| Live tutoring | Not stated | none |
| Placement test | Not stated | none |
| Refund or trial | Not stated | none |
| Company | Memrise, United Kingdom | vendor pageread 2026-09-06 |
Languages you can learn on Memrise
Memrise states 149 languages; the 31 below are the ones enumerated on its pages.
Arabic, Chinese, Danish, Dutch, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese (Kanji), Japanese (Romaji), Korean, Mongolian, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Portuguese (BR), Portuguese (EU), Russian, Slovenian, Spanish, Spanish (Mexico), Swahili, Swedish, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Yoruba
Compare Memrise
- Memrise vs Duolingo: vocabulary app against course app
- Best app to learn Spanish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best free app to learn Spanish: what exactly is free on each one
- Best app to learn French: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn German: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Italian: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Japanese: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Korean: every app that teaches it, compared
- All apps in one sortable table
Affiliate programme and how this page links out
No affiliate programme was found for Memrise on its own site or on the affiliate networks checked on 2026-09-06. Links on this page are plain links and earn nothing.
Sources
- https://app.memrise.com/payment/plans (read 2026-09-06)
- https://www.memrise.com/en/learn (read 2026-09-06)
- https://www.memrise.com/ (read 2026-09-06)
- https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.memrise.android.memrisecompanion (read 2026-09-06)
- https://www.memrise.com/about (read 2026-09-06)
- https://memrisebeta.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/24864128740113-Does-Memrise-offer-an-affiliate-programme (read 2026-09-06)