Rosetta Stone
Course app: immersion-style lessons without translation, with speech scoring.
Prices checked 17 Oct 2026 · How we check
Is Rosetta Stone worth it?
Yes, if you want to learn without translation, with your pronunciation scored and a 14-day money-back guarantee.
What it costs. A year costs $159 ($13.25 a month); month to month is $19.99.
What's free. Sample lessons on its site and a one-time 7-day free trial in the app; no ongoing free plan.
Skip it if you want grammar explained in English: lessons use no translation at all.
What learners rate it. 4.6 out of 5 from 1,918 ratings in Apple's US App Store and 4.6 from 406,024 on Google Play, checked 11 Oct 2026. The figure is for Rosetta Stone Sapphire, the app rosettastone.com links to; the older Rosetta Stone Classic listing is rated separately.
What unhappy reviewers mention. Of the 73 one- and two-star reviews among the 117 most recent in Apple's US App Store, 34 mention the price, billing or the subscription; 14 speech recognition or the microphone; and 12 bugs, crashes or the app not loading. Read 15 Oct 2026; a review can mention several.
$159 a year $13.25 a month, billed yearly
In our comparison: strongest on trial and refund terms and the number of languages, weakest on the free tier.
- Annual plan
- $159 a year ($13.25/mo)
- Monthly plan
- $19.99
- Lifetime plan
- —
- Free tier
- Free sample
Free sample lessons on its site and a one-time 7-day free trial in the app; no lasting free plan. - Languages
- 25
- Speech recognition
- Yes
- Live tutoring
- Coaching sessions with a Rosetta Stone certified tutor.
- Offline mode
- Yes
- Placement test
- —
- CEFR levels
- —
- Refund or trial
- A one-time 7-day free trial in the app. Bought from Rosetta Stone: a 14-day money-back guarantee, refunded by its Memberships team by email or phone. App Store purchases go through Apple; a retailer's follow that retailer's policy.
- Platforms
- iOS, Android, Web
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to the app makers' own sites earn us nothing. Commissions never affect which apps we recommend. Affiliate disclosure and how the data is collected.
How a Rosetta Stone lesson works
- What you do
- Pictures and audio with no translation at all, and your pronunciation scored.
- What comes back
- Automatic: exercises are marked, and speech recognition scores how you say words. No person checks your work.
- Not included
- Stated CEFR levels.
How a lesson works in a course app
Plans and prices
Every consumer plan on Rosetta Stone's own pricing page or app-store listing, in US dollars unless marked. Per month is the plan price divided by its term. Each price is what the seller was charging on the day we checked it. When a plan was on sale, its regular price is shown under the sale price; a crossed-out figure that is only a comparison, such as a year at the monthly rate, is in the plan's note.
| Plan | Billing | Price | Per month | Covers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| YearlyLabelled "Save 33%" against the monthly plan. | Annual | $159 | $13.25/mo | all languages |
| MonthlyAll 25 languages. | Monthly | $19.99 | $19.99/mo | all languages |
What will Rosetta Stone cost you?
Total billed over 12 months
$80.88 less on annual billingOne yearly payment of $159.00.
What each plan covers. Monthly: all languages. Yearly: all languages.
Before subscribing, compare trial, cancellation and refund terms, including how purchases through an app store differ.
How to cancel Rosetta Stone, and how refunds work
What Rosetta Stone says about itself
| Feature | What Rosetta Stone says |
|---|---|
| CEFR levels | — |
| What it is | Self-study course app that teaches through paired images and audio without translation, with speech feedback and optional live tutoring. |
| Languages offered | 25: Arabic, Chinese (Mandarin), Dutch, English (American), English (British), Filipino (Tagalog), French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin, Persian (Farsi), Polish, Portuguese (Brazil), Russian, Spanish (Latin America), Spanish (Spain), Swedish, Turkish, Vietnamese |
| Free tier | Free sample lessons on its site and a one-time 7-day free trial in the app; no lasting free plan. |
| Platforms | iOS, Android, Web |
| Offline mode | Yes |
| Speech recognition | Yes |
| Live tutoring | Coaching sessions with a Rosetta Stone certified tutor. |
| Placement test | — |
| Refund or trial | A one-time 7-day free trial in the app. Bought from Rosetta Stone: a 14-day money-back guarantee, refunded by its Memberships team by email or phone. App Store purchases go through Apple; a retailer's follow that retailer's policy. |
| Company | Rosetta Stone LLC (a division of IXL Learning), founded 1992 |
How Rosetta Stone compares
Rosetta Stone is strongest on trial and refund terms and the number of languages, weakest on the free tier. Each criterion is scored out of 5 from what each app says about itself and from independent reviews, to compare apps that do the same job; it is not a review of the app. How we score.
| Feature | Score (of 5) | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Teaching depth | 3.5 | Immersion-style lessons without translation, with speech scoring |
| Speaking practice | 3.5 | Live tutoring sold beside the app (Tutoring) |
| Language coverage | 4 | 25 languages |
| Free tier | 1.5 | The first lessons are free, the rest is paid |
| Price per month | 2 | $159 a year $13.25 a month, billed yearly |
| Trial and refund | 4.5 | A 7-day free trial and a 14-day money-back guarantee |
| Offline use | 4 | Works offline |
| Staying power and bugs | 3 | Mixed reports on staying power |
Languages you can learn on Rosetta Stone
25 languages as listed by Rosetta Stone.
How far its courses go
- Spanish (Latin America), Spanish (Spain), French, German, Italian: level not stated; 20 units in 5 levels.
- Japanese: level not stated; 12 units in 3 levels. Hiragana and katakana.
- Korean: level not stated; 12 units in 3 levels. Hangul introduced in lessons.
- Chinese (Mandarin): level not stated. Pinyin and tones.
- Portuguese (Brazil), Arabic, Dutch, Polish, Turkish, Greek, Vietnamese, Swedish: level not stated; 12 units.
- Hindi: level not stated; 12 units. Introduces the Devanagari script.
Arabic, Chinese (Mandarin), Dutch, English (American), English (British), Filipino (Tagalog), French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin, Persian (Farsi), Polish, Portuguese (Brazil), Russian, Spanish (Latin America), Spanish (Spain), Swedish, Turkish, Vietnamese
Compare Rosetta Stone
- Duolingo vs Rosetta Stone: which to choose, and what each costs
- Babbel vs Rosetta Stone: two paid courses, two methods
- Rosetta Stone vs Pimsleur: which to choose, and what each costs
- Rosetta Stone vs Babbel vs Duolingo: which to choose, and what a year costs
- Best app to learn Spanish: choose by goal and level
- Best app to learn French: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn German: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Italian: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Japanese: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Korean: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Chinese (Mandarin): every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Portuguese: Brazilian or European, every app compared
- Best app to learn Arabic: Modern Standard or a dialect, every app compared
- Best app to learn English: courses, tutors and AI speaking practice compared
- Best app to learn Hindi: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Dutch: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Polish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Turkish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Swedish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Greek: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Vietnamese: Northern or Southern, every app compared
- Rosetta Stone alternatives, by what is missing for you
- Best language apps for speaking practice, compared
- Best apps for language tutors and live classes, compared
- Best language learning apps for beginners, compared
- Best language learning apps for seniors, compared
- Best language apps for travel, compared
- Best apps to learn Spanish for a trip, compared
- Best apps to learn Japanese for a trip, compared
- Best apps to learn Italian for a trip, compared
- Best language learning apps for kids, compared
- Best apps for kids to learn English, compared
- Language learning apps for business and teams, compared
- Best apps to learn kana and kanji, compared
- Best apps to learn hangul, compared
- Rosetta Stone against any other app, side by side
- What Rosetta Stone will cost you for the months you study
- All 99 apps in one table
More head-to-heads with Rosetta Stone:
- Busuu vs Rosetta Stone
- Jumpspeak vs Rosetta Stone
- LingoDeer vs Rosetta Stone
- Lingopie vs Rosetta Stone
- Mango Languages vs Rosetta Stone
- Memrise vs Rosetta Stone
- Michel Thomas Method vs Rosetta Stone
- Mondly vs Rosetta Stone
- MosaLingua vs Rosetta Stone
- Rocket Languages vs Rosetta Stone
References
- Rosetta Stone: plans and prices (checked 6 Sept 2026)
- Rosetta Stone: home page (checked 6 Sept 2026)
- Google Play (US): Rosetta Stone Sapphire
- Rosetta Stone help: offline mode
- Rosetta Stone help: Sapphire subscriptions (checked 15 Oct 2026)
- Rosetta Stone: about the company
- Language Tsar, the reviewer used the app (21 Oct 2021)
- Multilingual Mastery, the reviewer used the app