Free Spanish apps
Best free app to learn Spanish: what exactly is free on each one
"Free" means five different things in this table, and the vendors say which. Some give the whole course with ads, some give the first lesson, some give five minutes every ten hours. The free-tier column quotes each app's own description, so you can see what you are actually getting before you download anything.
17 of the 24 apps in the dataset list Spanish and have a free tier. Sorted by price per month at annual billing; newest read 2026-09-06.
Links to apps on this page are plain, untracked links to the vendor. This site is funded by affiliate links: if an app's programme is joined, its link will earn a commission at no cost to you and will be listed on the affiliate disclosure page. Commercial relationships never affect order or inclusion; tables sort by price. Affiliate disclosure and how the data is collected.
Free Spanish apps, and what exactly is free
| Type | Lifetime | Free tier | Speech | Tutor | Offline | CEFR stated | Refund or trial | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| uTalkPhrase and vocabulary games with native-speaker audio in many languages | Vocabulary and flashcards | $2.50annual total not printed | $4.99 | none | Starter Words, a free 26-word pack in every language, plus an online demo at demo.utalk.com | No | No | Yes | not stated | 28-day money-back guarantee |
| TandemLanguage exchange with native speakers; the paid tier adds translation and visibility | Language exchange | $3.33$39.99 a year | not published | none | Free account with many features; Tandem Pro unlocks the rest | No | No | Not stated | not stated | Google Play purchases refundable within 14 days of a 1-month subscription or 30 days of a 3-month or 12-month subscription; iOS refunds requested from iTunes within 14 days |
| MondlyShort daily lessons across many languages, with a chatbot | Course app | $4$47.99 a year | $9.99 | none | Free version with Daily Lessons, the Hello category and a chatbot lesson. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | not stated | 7-day free trial |
| MemriseShort video clips of native speakers plus spaced-repetition review | Vocabulary and flashcards | $5.17$61.99 a year | $24.99 | $329.99 | Limited free version of the app; the paid plan unlocks the rest. | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | not stated | not stated |
| DropsFive-minute visual vocabulary sessions | Vocabulary and flashcards | $5.83$69.99 a year | $12.99 | $159.99 | Free access capped at 5 minutes of play every 10 hours, with topics unlocked one at a time through gameplay | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | not stated | 7-day free trial on the Yearly plan; affiliate terms reference a 14-day refund period |
| BusuuCourse app with corrections from native speakers and CEFR-labelled levels | Course app | $6.08$72.99 a year | not published | none | Free account with limited features; paid tiers remove ads and add review tools. | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated |
| ClozemasterFill-in-the-blank sentences for vocabulary in context | Vocabulary and flashcards | $6.67$79.99 a year | $12.99 | none | Free account with unlimited play; Pro unlocks advanced features | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | not stated | 30-day money back guarantee on the Yearly plan; no refunds on Monthly plans |
| HelloTalkChat and call with native speakers; the paid tier lifts limits | Language exchange | $6.67$79.99 a year | $12.99 | none | Free account with ads and daily limits (for example ten translations a day); occasional randomly offered 3-day VIP trials | Yes | No | Yes | not stated | Occasional randomly offered 3-day free VIP trial; refunds handled by Apple or Google for in-app purchases |
| LingvistAdaptive vocabulary drilling in sentence context | Vocabulary and flashcards | $6.67$79.99 a year | $9.99 | none | Free level placement before subscribing, and a 14-day free trial on the annual plan; the monthly plan has no trial | Yes | No | Not stated | not stated | 14-day free trial on the annual plan; cancel before it ends and you are not charged |
| SpeakAI-led speaking practice with feedback on what you said | AI conversation practice | $7$83.99 a year | $17.99 | none | 7-day free trial; no permanently free tier is published | Yes | No | Not stated | not stated | 7-day free trial; refunds for App Store and Google Play purchases go through Apple or Google, and website purchases through Speak support |
| BabbelShort structured lessons with grammar notes and review sessions | Course app | $8.95$107.40 a year | $17.99 | $299.99 | Free account; the first lesson of every course is free, and up to 80 free lessons depending on the language. | Yes | Not stated | Not stated | A1 to C1 | not stated |
| LingQRead and listen to real content, save words, review them | Immersion (video, reading) | $10$119.99 a year | $14.99 | none | Free account capped at 20 saved words and phrases, 5 lessons created from imported content, and 1 audio playlist | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | not stated | not stated |
| Mango LanguagesConversation-based courses, often free through a library card | Course app | $10annual total not printed | $13.99 | none | Free trial on both personal plans; the first lesson of any language is free; 10 endangered and indigenous language courses are free; free full access through participating public libraries | No | No | Yes | not stated | Free trial on Individual and Family plans; cancel before it ends and you are not charged |
| LingCourse app with a focus on Asian and less-taught languages | Course app | $12.50$149.99 a year | $16.99 | none | Free tier with limited lessons and limited dialogue practice, with ads | Yes | Ling Live Online Tutor | Not stated | not stated | 7-day free trial on the 12-month plan; 30-day money-back refund for yearly and lifetime subscriptions bought via Ling web (app-store purchases follow Apple's or Google's refund policy) |
| Rosetta StoneImmersion-style lessons without translation, with speech scoring | Course app | $13.25$159 a year | $19.99 | none | Free sample lessons from the site (TRY A LESSON); no ongoing free plan is described on the pricing page. | Yes | Tutoring | Yes | not stated | 14-day money-back guarantee |
| GlossikaSentence-pattern audio drills with spaced repetition | Audio course | $16.58annual total not printed | $19.99 | none | 7-day full access with no credit card, plus a permanent Freemium tier covering nine minoritized languages | No | No | Yes | not stated | 7-day free trial with no credit card; monthly payments are non-refundable, annual plans refundable pro rata within 60 days of purchase |
| DuolingoGamified free lessons; paid tiers remove ads and add practice features | Course app | not published | not published | none | Full free tier with ads and limits; paid tiers remove ads and limits. | Not stated | No | Not stated | A1 to B2 | 1 week free trial on Super |
Which one, for whom
You want the most Spanish for nothing
Duolingo
Duolingo's free tier is the full course with ads and daily limits, and the paid tiers only remove those. No other app in this table gives the whole course free. Its limits are the price: the ads, the caps, and no stated CEFR range to tell you where you have got to.
You have a library card
Mango Languages
Mango Languages states that the first lesson of any language is free and that public libraries provide full access free with a library card. It also states a placement test and offline mode. If your library has it, this is a full paid course for nothing; check your library's website for Mango before paying anyone.
You want free vocabulary practice with no ads
Clozemaster, then Drops in short bursts
Clozemaster states unlimited free play, with Pro unlocking advanced features, and it works offline. Drops gives five minutes of play every ten hours free, which is enough for a daily vocabulary habit and not enough for anything else. LingQ's free account is capped at 20 saved words, so it is a preview rather than a free tier.
You want to try a paid course before paying
Babbel's free lessons, Busuu's free account, Rosetta Stone's samples
Babbel states that the first lesson of every course is free and up to 80 lessons depending on the language. Busuu describes a free account with limited features. Rosetta Stone offers sample lessons rather than an ongoing free plan. These are trials in all but name; use them to pick the method, then pay for the one you kept opening.
You want to talk to real people for free
HelloTalk or Tandem
HelloTalk and Tandem are language-exchange apps: you help someone with your language, they help you with Spanish. Both have free accounts with limits (HelloTalk caps free translation at ten uses a day; Tandem reviews applications before admitting members) and paid tiers that lift them. They are not courses, and they are the only free way in this table to practise with a person.
Questions people ask
Is Duolingo completely free for Spanish?
Its free tier is the full Spanish course with ads and daily limits. Paid tiers (Super, Max) remove ads and add features; their prices are not published on duolingo.com and are sold in the app.
Is there a free Spanish app without ads?
Clozemaster states unlimited free play with no mention of ads on its plans page; Mango Languages is free through many public libraries. Duolingo's free tier carries ads.
Can I learn Spanish for free with a library card?
Mango Languages states that public libraries provide it free to card holders, and that ten endangered and indigenous language courses are free for everyone. Availability depends on your library.