Drops
Vocabulary and flashcards: five-minute visual vocabulary sessions.
Prices checked 17 Oct 2026 · How we check
Is Drops worth it?
Yes, if you want a few minutes of picture-led vocabulary a day, in one of 55 languages.
What it costs. A year costs $69.99 ($5.83 a month); month to month is $11; lifetime access is $150 once. Lifetime costs the same as 2.1 years of the yearly plan.
What's free. Free access capped at 5 minutes of play every 10 hours, with topics unlocked one at a time through gameplay.
Skip it if you want more than vocabulary, or more than 5 minutes every 10 hours without paying.
What learners rate it. 4.7 out of 5 from 71,644 ratings in Apple's US App Store and 4.3 from 318,354 on Google Play, checked 11 Oct 2026.
What unhappy reviewers mention. Of the 90 one- and two-star reviews among the 500 most recent in Apple's US App Store, 22 mention the price, billing or the subscription; 15 bugs, crashes or the app not loading; and 9 the use of AI. Read 15 Oct 2026; a review can mention several.
$69.99 a year $5.83 a month, billed yearly
In our comparison: strongest on the number of languages and trial and refund terms, weakest on teaching depth.
- Annual plan
- $69.99 a year ($5.83/mo)
- Monthly plan
- $11
- Lifetime plan
- $150 once, all languages
- Free tier
- Free to keep using
Free access capped at 5 minutes of play every 10 hours, with topics unlocked one at a time through gameplay - Languages
- 55
- Speech recognition
- —
- Live tutoring
- —
- Offline mode
- Yes
- Placement test
- —
- CEFR levels
- —
- Refund or trial
- 7-day free trial on the Yearly plan; affiliate terms reference a 14-day refund period
- Platforms
- iOS, Android, Web
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to the app makers' own sites earn us nothing. Commissions never affect which apps we recommend. Affiliate disclosure and how the data is collected.
How a Drops lesson works
- What you do
- Five-minute picture games that teach words by topic.
- What comes back
- Automatic: exercises are marked right or wrong. No person checks your work.
- Not included
- A live teacher or stated CEFR levels.
How a lesson works in a vocabulary app
Speaking and feedback
Word and audio practice is different from taking turns in a conversation.
Before you choose
Do not choose vocabulary games as your only preparation for an unscripted conversation.
- Grammar
- Drops has grammar practice in 9 of its languages: English, Spanish, German, French, Japanese, Korean, Tagalog, and Brazilian and European Portuguese. Do not assume every language gets the same grammar course.
- Review
- Spaced repetition, plus review modes such as Favorites and Quiz mode.
- Course depth
- Pick words and topics to practise. Check the activities for your language before relying on Drops to take you beyond vocabulary.
Plans and prices
Every consumer plan on Drops's own pricing page or app-store listing, in US dollars unless marked. Per month is the plan price divided by its term. Each price is what the seller was charging on the day we checked it. When a plan was on sale, its regular price is shown under the sale price; a crossed-out figure that is only a comparison, such as a year at the monthly rate, is in the plan's note.
| Plan | Billing | Price | Per month | Covers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| YearlyPremium | Annual | $69.99 | $5.83/mo | all languages |
| MonthlyPremiumThe regular price; Drops also runs promotions and regional offers. | Monthly | $11 | $11/mo | all languages |
| one-time purchasePremiumThe regular price; Drops also runs promotions and regional offers. | Lifetime | $150 | one-time | all languages |
What will Drops cost you?
Total billed over 12 months
$62.01 less on annual billingOne yearly payment of $69.99.
What each plan covers. Monthly: all languages. Yearly: all languages.
How lifetime and yearly plans compare across apps
Before subscribing, compare trial, cancellation and refund terms, including how purchases through an app store differ.
How to cancel Drops, and how refunds work
What Drops says about itself
| Feature | What Drops says |
|---|---|
| CEFR levels | — |
| What it is | Vocabulary app that teaches words through timed picture-matching games in short sessions. |
| Languages offered | 55: Ainu, American English, Arabic, Basque, Bosnian, Brazilian Portuguese, British English, Cantonese, Castilian Spanish, Catalan, Chti, Croatian, Danish, Dutch, Egyptian Arabic, Esperanto, Estonian, European Portuguese, Finnish, French, Galician, German, Greek, Greenlandic, Hawaiian, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Igbo, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Mandarin Chinese, Maori, Mexican Spanish, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Romanian, Russian, Samoan, Sanskrit for Yoga, Serbian, Swahili, Swedish, Swiss German, Tagalog, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Vietnamese, Welsh, Yoruba |
| Free tier | Free access capped at 5 minutes of play every 10 hours, with topics unlocked one at a time through gameplay |
| Platforms | iOS, Android, Web |
| Offline mode | Yes |
| Speech recognition | — |
| Live tutoring | — |
| Placement test | — |
| Refund or trial | 7-day free trial on the Yearly plan; affiliate terms reference a 14-day refund period |
| Company | PlanB Labs OÜ |
How Drops compares
Drops is strongest on the number of languages and trial and refund terms, weakest on teaching depth. Each criterion is scored out of 5 from what each app says about itself and from independent reviews, to compare apps that do the same job; it is not a review of the app. How we score.
| Feature | Score (of 5) | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Teaching depth | 1.5 | Five-minute visual vocabulary sessions |
| Speaking practice | 1.5 | — |
| Language coverage | 5 | 55 languages |
| Free tier | 3 | A free account with limits |
| Price per month | 3.5 | $69.99 a year $5.83 a month, billed yearly |
| Trial and refund | 4 | A 7-day free trial and a 14-day money-back guarantee |
| Offline use | 4 | Works offline |
| Staying power and bugs | 3 | Mixed reports on staying power |
Languages you can learn on Drops
56 languages as listed by Drops.
How far its courses go
- Castilian Spanish, German, Italian, Mandarin Chinese, American English, British English, Arabic, Brazilian Portuguese, Danish, Dutch, Esperanto, Greek, Hawaiian, Hebrew, Hindi, Indonesian, Norwegian, Polish, Samoan, Swedish, Thai, Turkish: level not stated; 2,000+ words.
- Mexican Spanish: Beginner to advanced; over 1,000 words and phrases.
- French: Beginner to advanced.
- Japanese: level not stated; 2,000+ words. Katakana, hiragana and kanji.
- Korean: level not stated. Hangul, to read and write.
- Cantonese: level not stated.
Ainu, American English, Arabic, Basque, Bosnian, Brazilian Portuguese, British English, Cantonese, Castilian Spanish, Catalan, Chti, Croatian, Danish, Dutch, Egyptian Arabic, Esperanto, Estonian, European Portuguese, Finnish, French, Galician, German, Greek, Greenlandic, Hawaiian, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Igbo, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Mandarin Chinese, Maori, Mexican Spanish, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Romanian, Russian, Samoan, Sanskrit for Yoga, Serbian, Swahili, Swedish, Swiss German, Tagalog, Thai, Turkish, Ukrainian, Vietnamese, Welsh, Yoruba
Compare Drops
- Best app to learn Spanish: choose by goal and level
- Best app to learn French: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn German: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Italian: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Japanese: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Korean: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Chinese (Mandarin): every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Cantonese: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Portuguese: Brazilian or European, every app compared
- Best app to learn Arabic: Modern Standard or a dialect, every app compared
- Best app to learn English: courses, tutors and AI speaking practice compared
- Best app to learn Hindi: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Dutch: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Polish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Turkish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Swedish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Greek: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Vietnamese: Northern or Southern, every app compared
- Best app to learn Finnish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Drops alternatives, by what is missing for you
- Language apps you pay for once, compared
- Best vocabulary and flashcard apps, compared
- Best apps to learn Spanish vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn German vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn Italian vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn French vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn Portuguese vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn Japanese vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn Korean vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn Chinese vocabulary, compared
- Best apps for intermediate Spanish, compared
- Best language apps for travel, compared
- Best apps to learn Spanish for a trip, compared
- Best apps to learn Japanese for a trip, compared
- Best apps to learn Italian for a trip, compared
- Best apps to learn kana and kanji, compared
- Best apps to learn hangul, compared
- Drops against any other app, side by side
- What Drops will cost you for the months you study
- All 99 apps in one table
References
- Drops: Premium prices (checked 5 Oct 2026)
- Drops: languages (checked 6 Sept 2026)
- Drops help: Free and Premium compared (checked 6 Sept 2026)
- Drops: home page
- Drops: affiliate programme (checked 6 Sept 2026)
- The Mezzofanti Guild, the reviewer used the app (1 Sept 2026)
- Rhapsody in Lingo, the reviewer used the app