Lingvist
Vocabulary and flashcards: adaptive vocabulary drilling in sentence context.
Prices checked 6 Sept 2026 · How we check
Is Lingvist worth it?
Yes, if you want to build vocabulary quickly, starting from a placement test.
What it costs. A year costs $79.99 ($6.67 a month); month to month is $9.99.
What's free. Free level placement before subscribing, and a 14-day free trial on the annual plan; the monthly plan has no trial.
Skip it if you want a full course rather than vocabulary practice.
What learners rate it. 4.6 out of 5 from 3,704 ratings in Apple's US App Store and 4.6 from 69,312 on Google Play, checked 11 Oct 2026.
What unhappy reviewers mention. Of the 135 one- and two-star reviews among the 396 most recent in Apple's US App Store, 46 mention the price, billing or the subscription; 14 bugs, crashes or the app not loading; and 6 customer support. Read 15 Oct 2026; a review can mention several.
$79.99 a year $6.67 a month, billed yearly
In our comparison: strongest on staying power and price, weakest on the free tier.
- Annual plan
- $79.99 a year ($6.67/mo)
- Monthly plan
- $9.99
- Lifetime plan
- —
- Free tier
- Free trial
Free level placement before subscribing, and a 14-day free trial on the annual plan; the monthly plan has no trial - Languages
- 16
- Speech recognition
- Yes
- Live tutoring
- No
- Offline mode
- —
- Placement test
- Yes
- CEFR levels
- —
- Refund or trial
- 14-day free trial on the annual plan; cancel before it ends and you are not charged
- Platforms
- iOS, Android, Web
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to the app makers' own sites earn us nothing. Commissions never affect which apps we recommend. Affiliate disclosure and how the data is collected.
How a Lingvist lesson works
- What you do
- Fill in the missing word in a sentence while the app adapts to what you already know.
- What comes back
- Automatic: exercises are marked, and speech recognition scores how you say words. No person checks your work.
- Not included
- A live teacher or stated CEFR levels.
How a lesson works in a vocabulary app
Plans and prices
Every consumer plan on Lingvist's own pricing page or app-store listing, in US dollars unless marked. Per month is the plan price divided by its term. Each price is what the seller was charging on the day we checked it. When a plan was on sale, its regular price is shown under the sale price; a crossed-out figure that is only a comparison, such as a year at the monthly rate, is in the plan's note.
| Plan | Billing | Price | Per month | Covers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AnnualThe US price; visitors in Europe see €79.99. | Annual | $79.99 | $6.67/mo | all languages |
| MonthlyNo free trial on the monthly plan. | Monthly | $9.99 | $9.99/mo | all languages |
What will Lingvist cost you?
Total billed over 12 months
$39.89 less on annual billingOne yearly payment of $79.99.
What each plan covers. Monthly: all languages. Yearly: all languages.
Before subscribing, compare trial, cancellation and refund terms, including how purchases through an app store differ.
How to cancel Lingvist, and how refunds work
What Lingvist says about itself
| Feature | What Lingvist says |
|---|---|
| CEFR levels | — |
| What it is | Vocabulary flashcard app that fills blanks in example sentences and schedules repeats with a spaced-repetition algorithm. |
| Languages offered | 16: Brazilian Portuguese, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin American Spanish, Norwegian, Polish, Russian, Spanish, Swedish |
| Free tier | Free level placement before subscribing, and a 14-day free trial on the annual plan; the monthly plan has no trial |
| Platforms | iOS, Android, Web |
| Offline mode | — |
| Speech recognition | Yes |
| Live tutoring | No |
| Placement test | Yes |
| Refund or trial | 14-day free trial on the annual plan; cancel before it ends and you are not charged |
| Company | Lingvist Technologies OU, Estonia, founded 2013 |
How Lingvist compares
Lingvist is strongest on staying power and price, weakest on the free tier. Each criterion is scored out of 5 from what each app says about itself and from independent reviews, to compare apps that do the same job; it is not a review of the app. How we score.
| Feature | Score (of 5) | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Teaching depth | 2.5 | Adaptive vocabulary drilling in sentence context |
| Speaking practice | 2.5 | Speech recognition scores your pronunciation |
| Language coverage | 2.5 | 16 languages |
| Free tier | 1.5 | A free trial rather than a free tier |
| Price per month | 3.5 | $79.99 a year $6.67 a month, billed yearly |
| Trial and refund | 3 | A 14-day free trial |
| Offline use | – | — |
| Staying power and bugs | 4 | Reviewers report people keep using it and few bugs |
Languages you can learn on Lingvist
16 languages as listed by Lingvist.
How far its courses go
- European Spanish: level not stated; 5,945 words (general course).
- Latin American Spanish: level not stated; 5,000 words (general course).
- French: level not stated; 5,091 words (general course).
- German: level not stated; 6,009 words (general course).
- Italian: level not stated; 6,143 words (general course).
- Japanese: level not stated; 3,107 words (general course). Hiragana and katakana decks; kanji from the easiest.
- Korean: level not stated. A hangeul deck to start reading.
- Portuguese: level not stated; 5,013 words.
- Dutch: level not stated; 5,848 words.
Brazilian Portuguese, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin American Spanish, Norwegian, Polish, Russian, Spanish, Swedish
Compare Lingvist
- Best app to learn Spanish: choose by goal and level
- Best app to learn French: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn German: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Italian: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Japanese: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Korean: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Portuguese: Brazilian or European, every app compared
- Best app to learn English: courses, tutors and AI speaking practice compared
- Best app to learn Dutch: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Polish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Swedish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best language apps for speaking practice, compared
- Best vocabulary and flashcard apps, compared
- Best apps to learn Spanish vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn German vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn Italian vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn French vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn Portuguese vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn Japanese vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn Korean vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn kana and kanji, compared
- Best apps to learn hangul, compared
- Lingvist against any other app, side by side
- What Lingvist will cost you for the months you study
- All 99 apps in one table
References
- Lingvist: prices (checked 6 Sept 2026)
- Apple App Store: Lingvist listing (checked 6 Sept 2026)
- Lingvist: partnerships (checked 6 Sept 2026)
- Lingvist: about
- All Language Resources, the reviewer used the app (4 Oct 2024)
- Actual Fluency, the reviewer used the app (25 Apr 2026)