Mango Languages
Course app: conversation-based courses, often free through a library card.
Prices checked 17 Oct 2026 · How we check
Is Mango Languages worth it?
Yes, if your public library offers it free, or you want conversation-based lessons in one of 73 languages.
What it costs. A year costs about $120 ($10 a month); month to month is $13.99.
What's free. Free through many public libraries; otherwise a free trial and the first lesson of any language.
Skip it if you want your pronunciation scored: Mango lets you record a phrase and compare it with a native speaker by ear, but nothing scores it.
What learners rate it. 4.8 out of 5 from 44,322 ratings in Apple's US App Store and 4.8 from 24,609 on Google Play, checked 11 Oct 2026.
What unhappy reviewers mention. Of the 71 one- and two-star reviews among the 500 most recent in Apple's US App Store, 10 mention bugs, crashes or the app not loading; 4 the price, billing or the subscription; and 3 the use of AI. Read 15 Oct 2026; a review can mention several.
About $120 a year $10 a month, billed yearly · Individual
In our comparison: strongest on the number of languages and teaching depth, weakest on speaking practice.
- Annual plan
- $10/mo, billed yearly (no yearly total stated)
- Monthly plan
- $13.99
- Lifetime plan
- —
- Free tier
- Free sample
Free trial on both personal plans; the first lesson of any language is free; 10 endangered and indigenous language courses are free; free full access through participating public libraries - Languages
- 73
- Speech recognition
- No · You record yourself and compare with a native speaker by ear (Voice Comparison); nothing scores it.
- Live tutoring
- No
- Offline mode
- Yes
- Placement test
- Yes
- CEFR levels
- A1 to B1 (Mango likens its top level, Skilled 3, to CEFR B1; by course: Spanish, French, German, Italian and Japanese A1 to B1)
- Refund or trial
- Free trial on Individual and Family plans; cancel before it ends and you are not charged
- Platforms
- iOS, Android, Web
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to the app makers' own sites earn us nothing. Commissions never affect which apps we recommend. Affiliate disclosure and how the data is collected.
How a Mango Languages lesson works
- What you do
- Hear a conversation, break it into phrases and repeat them, with notes on grammar and culture.
- What comes back
- Automatic: exercises are marked right or wrong. Voice Comparison records you saying a phrase so you can compare it with a native speaker by ear; nothing scores it. No person checks your work.
- Not included
- A live teacher or feedback on your pronunciation.
How a lesson works in a course app
Plans and prices
Every consumer plan on Mango Languages's own pricing page or app-store listing, in US dollars unless marked. Per month is the plan price divided by its term. Each price is what the seller was charging on the day we checked it. When a plan was on sale, its regular price is shown under the sale price; a crossed-out figure that is only a comparison, such as a year at the monthly rate, is in the plan's note.
| Plan | Billing | Price | Per month | Covers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Individual (billed annually)IndividualMango states only the monthly figure for the yearly plan, about $120 a year. Many public libraries give the whole course free. | Annual | — | $10/mo | all languages |
| Family (billed annually)FamilyMango states only the monthly figure for the yearly plan. | Family | — | $12.50/mo | family up to 5 |
| Individual | Monthly | $13.99 | $13.99/mo | all languages |
| Family | Family | $19.99 | $19.99/mo | family up to 5 |
Before subscribing, compare trial, cancellation and refund terms, including how purchases through an app store differ.
How to cancel Mango Languages, and how refunds work
What Mango Languages says about itself
| Feature | What Mango Languages says |
|---|---|
| CEFR levels | A1 to B1 (Mango likens its top level, Skilled 3, to CEFR B1; by course: Spanish, French, German, Italian and Japanese A1 to B1) |
| What it is | Structured course app built around recorded native-speaker conversations broken into pieces and rebuilt, with grammar and culture notes and spaced review. |
| Languages offered | 73: Arabic (Egyptian), Arabic (Iraqi), Arabic (Levantine), Arabic (Modern Standard), Armenian, Azerbaijani, Bengali, Chaldean, Cherokee, Chinese (Cantonese), Chinese (Mandarin), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dari, Dutch, Dzongkha, English (Shakespearean), English Plus, Filipino (Tagalog), Finnish, French, French (Canadian), German, Greek (Ancient), Greek (Koine), Greek (Modern), Haitian Creole, Hawaiian, Hebrew (Biblical), Hebrew (Modern), Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Igbo, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Javanese, Kazakh, Korean, Latin, Malay, Malayalam, Norwegian, Pashto, Persian (Farsi), Pirate, Polish, Portuguese (Brazilian), Potawatomi, Punjabi (Pakistani), Romanian, Russian, Scottish Gaelic, Serbian, Shanghainese, Slovak, Spanish (Castilian), Spanish (Latin American), Swahili, Swedish, Tamil, Telugu, Thai, Turkish, Tuvan, Ukrainian, Urdu, Uzbek, Vietnamese, Yiddish |
| Free tier | Free trial on both personal plans; the first lesson of any language is free; 10 endangered and indigenous language courses are free; free full access through participating public libraries |
| Platforms | iOS, Android, Web |
| Offline mode | Yes |
| Speech recognition | No · You record yourself and compare with a native speaker by ear (Voice Comparison); nothing scores it. |
| Live tutoring | No |
| Placement test | Yes |
| Refund or trial | Free trial on Individual and Family plans; cancel before it ends and you are not charged |
| Company | Mango Languages, United States, founded 2007 |
How Mango Languages compares
Mango Languages is strongest on the number of languages and teaching depth, weakest on speaking practice. Each criterion is scored out of 5 from what each app says about itself and from independent reviews, to compare apps that do the same job; it is not a review of the app. How we score.
| Feature | Score (of 5) | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Teaching depth | 4 | Conversation-based courses, often free through a library card |
| Speaking practice | 2 | You record yourself and compare with a native speaker; nothing scores or answers you |
| Language coverage | 5 | 73 languages |
| Free tier | 3.5 | The first lesson is free, and the whole course is free through many public libraries |
| Price per month | 3 | About $120 a year $10 a month, billed yearly · Individual |
| Trial and refund | 3 | A free trial |
| Offline use | 4 | Works offline |
| Staying power and bugs | 4 | Reviewers report people keep using it and few bugs |
Use the CEFR level guide to interpret the range above and compare published course levels.
Languages you can learn on Mango Languages
73 languages as listed by Mango Languages.
How far its courses go
- Spanish (Latin American): A1 to B1; 5 units, 41 chapters, 682 lessons.
- Spanish (Castilian): level not stated; 3 units, 15 chapters, 96 lessons.
- French: A1 to B1; 5 units, 41 chapters, 567 lessons.
- French (Canadian): level not stated; 3 units, 15 chapters, 75 lessons.
- German: A1 to B1; 5 units, 41 chapters, 721 lessons.
- Italian: A1 to B1; 5 units, 41 chapters, 566 lessons.
- Japanese: A1 to B1; 5 units, 41 chapters, 638 lessons.
- Korean: level not stated; 1 unit, 75 lessons.
Arabic (Egyptian), Arabic (Iraqi), Arabic (Levantine), Arabic (Modern Standard), Armenian, Azerbaijani, Bengali, Chaldean, Cherokee, Chinese (Cantonese), Chinese (Mandarin), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dari, Dutch, Dzongkha, English (Shakespearean), English Plus, Filipino (Tagalog), Finnish, French, French (Canadian), German, Greek (Ancient), Greek (Koine), Greek (Modern), Haitian Creole, Hawaiian, Hebrew (Biblical), Hebrew (Modern), Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Igbo, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Javanese, Kazakh, Korean, Latin, Malay, Malayalam, Norwegian, Pashto, Persian (Farsi), Pirate, Polish, Portuguese (Brazilian), Potawatomi, Punjabi (Pakistani), Romanian, Russian, Scottish Gaelic, Serbian, Shanghainese, Slovak, Spanish (Castilian), Spanish (Latin American), Swahili, Swedish, Tamil, Telugu, Thai, Turkish, Tuvan, Ukrainian, Urdu, Uzbek, Vietnamese, Yiddish
Compare Mango Languages
- Best app to learn Spanish: choose by goal and level
- Best app to learn French: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn German: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Italian: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Japanese: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Korean: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Chinese (Mandarin): every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Cantonese: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Portuguese: Brazilian or European, every app compared
- Best app to learn Arabic: Modern Standard or a dialect, every app compared
- Best app to learn English: courses, tutors and AI speaking practice compared
- Best app to learn Hindi: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Dutch: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Polish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Turkish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Swedish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Greek: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Vietnamese: Northern or Southern, every app compared
- Best app to learn Finnish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best language apps for speaking practice, compared
- Best language learning apps for beginners, compared
- Best language learning apps for seniors, compared
- Best apps for intermediate Spanish, compared
- Best language apps for travel, compared
- Best apps to learn Spanish for a trip, compared
- Best apps to learn Japanese for a trip, compared
- Best apps to learn Italian for a trip, compared
- Mango Languages against any other app, side by side
- All 99 apps in one table
More head-to-heads with Mango Languages:
- Babbel vs Mango Languages
- Mango Languages vs Pimsleur
- Mango Languages vs Rocket Languages
- Mango Languages vs Rosetta Stone
References
- Mango Languages: prices (checked 6 Sept 2026)
- Mango Languages: languages (checked 6 Sept 2026)
- Mango Languages help: system requirements
- Mango Languages help: downloading lessons
- Mango Languages help: voice comparison
- Mango Languages: company
- Mango Languages: affiliate programme (checked 6 Sept 2026)
- Test Prep Insight, the reviewer used the app (7 May 2026)
- Multilingual Mastery, the reviewer used the app