LingQ
Immersion (video, audio, reading): read and listen to real content, save words, review them.
Prices checked 6 Oct 2026 · How we check
Is LingQ worth it?
Our pick: Best for reading and listening.
Yes, if you know the basics and want to read and listen to real content, saving words as you go.
What it costs. A year costs $119.99 ($10 a month); month to month is $14.99.
What's free. Free account capped at 20 saved words and phrases, 5 lessons created from imported content, and 1 audio playlist.
Skip it if you want grammar taught step by step: LingQ is reading and listening with your own word lists.
What learners rate it. 4.7 out of 5 from 10,317 ratings in Apple's US App Store and 4.5 from 50,821 on Google Play, checked 11 Oct 2026.
What unhappy reviewers mention. Of the 79 one- and two-star reviews among the 500 most recent in Apple's US App Store, 27 mention the price, billing or the subscription; 12 bugs, crashes or the app not loading; and 9 the use of AI. Read 15 Oct 2026; a review can mention several.
$119.99 a year $10 a month, billed yearly
In our comparison: strongest on the number of languages and offline use, weakest on speaking practice.
- Annual plan
- $119.99 a year ($10/mo)
- Monthly plan
- $14.99
- Lifetime plan
- —
- Free tier
- Free to keep using
Free account capped at 20 saved words and phrases, 5 lessons created from imported content, and 1 audio playlist - Languages
- 52
- Speech recognition
- —
- Live tutoring
- —
- Offline mode
- Yes
- Placement test
- —
- CEFR levels
- —
- Refund or trial
- Full refund during the first 30 days of an initial Premium subscription; no partial-month or unused-month refunds afterward.
- Platforms
- iOS, Android, Web
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to the app makers' own sites earn us nothing. Commissions never affect which apps we recommend. Affiliate disclosure and how the data is collected.
How a LingQ lesson works
- What you do
- Read and listen to a text or podcast, tapping unknown words to save and review them.
- What comes back
- Automatic: exercises are marked right or wrong. No person checks your work.
- Not included
- A live teacher or stated CEFR levels.
How a lesson works in a reading app
Speaking and feedback
The reading routine is not a conversation. LingQ also lists tutor conversations separately; check their availability and cost.
Before you choose
Choose a structured course if deciding what to read next would stop you studying.
- Grammar
- Start from language in context. There is no fixed order of lessons to follow.
- Review
- Revisit saved words in context or use the spaced-repetition review tools.
- Course depth
- Choose material by level and interest; there is no single course ceiling.
Plans and prices
Every consumer plan on LingQ's own pricing page or app-store listing, in US dollars unless marked. Per month is the plan price divided by its term. Each price is what the seller was charging on the day we checked it. When a plan was on sale, its regular price is shown under the sale price; a crossed-out figure that is only a comparison, such as a year at the monthly rate, is in the plan's note.
| Plan | Billing | Price | Per month | Covers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 24 MonthsPremiumMarked "Best Value", 40% off. | 24 months | $215.76 | $8.99/mo | all languages |
| 12 MonthsPremiumMarked "Most Popular", 33% off. | Annual | $119.99 | $10/mo | all languages |
| 1 MonthPremiumLingQ also runs sales of up to 45% off; these are the prices on its pricing page. | Monthly | $14.99 | $14.99/mo | all languages |
| 12 MonthsPremium PlusMarked "Most Popular", 25% off. | Annual | $269.99 | $22.50/mo | all languages |
| 1 MonthPremium PlusPremium Plus adds more audio transcription, AI voices, advanced Lynx chat and AI-simplified lessons. | Monthly | $29.99 | $29.99/mo | all languages |
What will LingQ cost you?
Total billed over 12 months
$59.89 less on annual billingOne yearly payment of $119.99.
What each plan covers. Monthly: all languages. Yearly: all languages.
Before subscribing, compare trial, cancellation and refund terms, including how purchases through an app store differ.
How to cancel LingQ, and how refunds work
What LingQ says about itself
| Feature | What LingQ says |
|---|---|
| CEFR levels | — |
| What it is | Immersion (video, audio, reading). Reading and listening library where learners import or pick authentic content and save unknown words for review. |
| Languages offered | 52: Afrikaans, Arabic, Armenian, Belarusian, Bulgarian, Cantonese, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Esperanto, Finnish, French, Georgian, German, Greek, Gujarati, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Irish Gaelic, Italian, Japanese, Khmer, Korean, Latin, Macedonian, Malay, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swahili, Swedish, Tagalog, Taiwanese Mandarin, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, Vietnamese |
| Free tier | Free account capped at 20 saved words and phrases, 5 lessons created from imported content, and 1 audio playlist |
| Platforms | iOS, Android, Web |
| Offline mode | Yes |
| Speech recognition | — |
| Live tutoring | — |
| Placement test | — |
| Refund or trial | Full refund during the first 30 days of an initial Premium subscription; no partial-month or unused-month refunds afterward. |
| Company | LingQ Languages Ltd., Canada, founded 2007 |
How LingQ compares
LingQ is strongest on the number of languages and offline use, weakest on speaking practice. Each criterion is scored out of 5 from what each app says about itself and from independent reviews, to compare apps that do the same job; it is not a review of the app. How we score.
| Feature | Score (of 5) | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Teaching depth | 2.5 | Read and listen to real content, save words, review them |
| Speaking practice | 1.5 | — |
| Language coverage | 5 | 52 languages |
| Free tier | 3 | A free account with limits |
| Price per month | 3 | $119.99 a year $10 a month, billed yearly |
| Trial and refund | 2.5 | Full refund during the first 30 days of an initial Premium subscription; no partial-month or unused-month refunds afterward |
| Offline use | 4 | Works offline |
| Staying power and bugs | 3 | Mixed reports on staying power |
Languages you can learn on LingQ
52 languages as listed by LingQ.
How far its courses go
- Spanish library, French library, German library, Italian library, Japanese library, Korean library: Beginner 1 to Advanced 2; thousands of hours of audio lessons with transcripts.
- Chinese library: level not stated; thousands of hours of audio lessons with transcripts. Simplified and traditional, as separate libraries.
- Cantonese library, Arabic library, Dutch library, Polish library, Turkish library, Greek library, Vietnamese library, Finnish library, Hindi library, Swedish library: level not stated; thousands of hours of audio lessons with transcripts.
Afrikaans, Arabic, Armenian, Belarusian, Bulgarian, Cantonese, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Esperanto, Finnish, French, Georgian, German, Greek, Gujarati, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Irish Gaelic, Italian, Japanese, Khmer, Korean, Latin, Macedonian, Malay, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swahili, Swedish, Tagalog, Taiwanese Mandarin, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, Vietnamese
Compare LingQ
- Lingopie vs LingQ: which to choose, and what each costs
- Best app to learn Spanish: choose by goal and level
- Best app to learn French: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn German: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Italian: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Japanese: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Korean: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Chinese (Mandarin): every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Cantonese: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Portuguese: Brazilian or European, every app compared
- Best app to learn Arabic: Modern Standard or a dialect, every app compared
- Best app to learn English: courses, tutors and AI speaking practice compared
- Best app to learn Hindi: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Dutch: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Polish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Turkish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Swedish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Greek: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Vietnamese: Northern or Southern, every app compared
- Best app to learn Finnish: every app that teaches it, compared
- LingQ alternatives, by what is missing for you
- Best apps to learn a language with videos, TV and reading, compared
- Best apps for intermediate Spanish, compared
- LingQ against any other app, side by side
- What LingQ will cost you for the months you study
- All 99 apps in one table
More head-to-heads with LingQ:
References
- LingQ: plans and sign-up (checked 6 Sept 2026)
- LingQ: home page (checked 6 Sept 2026)
- LingQ: about
- LingQ: terms (checked 7 Oct 2026)
- LingQ: referral and affiliate programme (checked 6 Sept 2026)
- Multilingual Mastery, the reviewer used the app
- Linguist Mag, the reviewer used the app