uTalk
Vocabulary and flashcards: phrase and vocabulary games with native-speaker audio in many languages.
Prices checked 13 Oct 2026 · How we check
Is uTalk worth it?
Yes, if you want words and phrases in a language few apps teach: it covers 160.
What it costs. A year of one language costs $24.99 to $59.99, depending on the language (Spanish: $24.99 or $29.99); month to month is $3.99 to $9.99. Its plans pages show one of two prices for the same language from one visit to the next. Each language's price is under Plans and prices.
What's free. Starter Words, a free 26-word pack in every language, plus an online demo at demo.utalk.com.
Skip it if you want to build sentences and learn grammar: it teaches words and phrases.
What learners rate it. 4.4 out of 5 from 1,021 ratings in Apple's US App Store and 4.7 from 6,375 on Google Play, checked 11 Oct 2026.
What unhappy reviewers mention. Of the 63 one- and two-star reviews among the 177 most recent in Apple's US App Store, 23 mention the price, billing or the subscription; 5 bugs, crashes or the app not loading; and 4 signing in, or lost progress and streaks. Read 15 Oct 2026; a review can mention several.
From $24.99 a year $24.99 to $59.99 a year for one language, depending on the language
In our comparison: strongest on the number of languages and offline use, weakest on teaching depth.
- Annual plan
- $24.99 to $59.99 a year for one language, depending on the language
- Monthly plan
- $3.99 to $9.99 a month, depending on the language
- Lifetime plan
- —
- Free tier
- Free sample
Starter Words, a free 26-word pack in every language, plus an online demo at demo.utalk.com - Languages
- 160
- Speech recognition
- No
- Live tutoring
- No
- Offline mode
- Yes
- Placement test
- No
- CEFR levels
- A1 to A2 (by course: Spanish, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Chinese, Portuguese, Arabic, Dutch, Turkish, Greek, Finnish, Hindi and Quechua A1 to A2)
- Refund or trial
- 28-day money-back guarantee
- Platforms
- iOS, Android, Web
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to the app makers' own sites earn us nothing. Commissions never affect which apps we recommend. Affiliate disclosure and how the data is collected.
How a uTalk lesson works
- What you do
- Picture games for words and phrases by topic, with native-speaker audio.
- What comes back
- Automatic: exercises are marked right or wrong. No person checks your work.
- Not included
- A live teacher or feedback on your pronunciation.
How a lesson works in a vocabulary app
Plans and prices
Every consumer plan on uTalk's own pricing page or app-store listing, in US dollars unless marked. Per month is the plan price divided by its term. Each price is what the seller was charging on the day we checked it. When a plan was on sale, its regular price is shown under the sale price; a crossed-out figure that is only a comparison, such as a year at the monthly rate, is in the plan's note.
| Plan | Billing | Price | Per month | Covers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12 monthSpanish's price; its plans page shows $29.99 on some visits. A year of one language was $24.99 to $39.99 in the 19 languages we read, depending on the language. | Annual | $24.99 | $2.08/mo | one language |
| 6 monthSpanish's price; its plans page shows $19.99 on some visits. Each language has its own. | Every 6 months | $14.99 | $2.50/mo | one language |
| 1 monthSpanish's price; its plans page shows $4.99 on some visits. uTalk prices each language on its own, and each language page here shows that language's price. | Monthly | $3.99 | $3.99/mo | one language |
Prices by language
uTalk's price depends on the language. Its plans page for a language also shows one of two prices from one visit to the next; where we saw both, both are here. These are its own plans pages for the languages this site covers (checked 16 Oct 2026 and 13 Oct 2026), cheapest first; for any other language, its plans page shows the price.
uTalk's plans page for each language
Afrikaans · Albanian · Amharic · Ancient Greek · Arabic · Armenian · Assamese · Azerbaijani · Basque · Belarusian · Bengali · Bosnian · Breton · Bulgarian · Burmese · Canadian French · Cantonese · Catalan · Cebuano · Chichewa · Chinese · Cornish · Croatian · Czech · Danish · Dari · Dutch · Dzongkha · Egyptian Arabic · English · Esperanto · Estonian · Fijian · Finnish · French · Gaelic · Galician · Georgian · German · Greek · Greenlandic · Gujarati · Haitian Creole · Hakka · Hausa · Hawaiian · Hebrew · Hindi · Hungarian · Icelandic · Igbo · Ilocano · Indonesian · Irish · Italian · Japanese · Javanese · Kannada · Kazakh · Khmer · Kinyarwanda · Korean · Kurdish · Kyrgyz · Lao · Latin · Latvian · Lingala · Lithuanian · Luganda · Luxembourgish · Macedonian · Malagasy · Malay · Malayalam · Maltese · Manx · Maori · Marathi · Mongolian · Nepali · Norwegian · Oromo · Papiamento · Pashto · Persian · Polish · Portuguese · Punjabi · Quechua · Romanian · Samoan · Serbian · Shanghainese · Sicilian · Sindhi · Sinhala · Slovak · Slovenian · Somali · Spanish · Swahili · Swedish · Tagalog · Tajik · Tamil · Telugu · Thai · Turkish · Turkmen · Ukrainian · Urdu · Uzbek · Vietnamese · Welsh · Xhosa · Yoruba · Zulu
What will uTalk cost you?
Total billed over 12 months
$22.89 less on annual billingOne yearly payment of $24.99.
What each plan covers. Monthly: one language. Yearly: one language.
Before subscribing, compare trial, cancellation and refund terms, including how purchases through an app store differ.
How to cancel uTalk, and how refunds work
What uTalk says about itself
| Feature | What uTalk says |
|---|---|
| CEFR levels | A1 to A2 (by course: Spanish, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Chinese, Portuguese, Arabic, Dutch, Turkish, Greek, Finnish, Hindi and Quechua A1 to A2) |
| What it is | Vocabulary and flashcards. Game-based vocabulary and phrase app: native-speaker recordings across topic packs, with a record-and-compare speaking exercise. |
| Languages offered | 160: Afrikaans, Albanian, Alsatian, American, Amharic, Arabic, Arabic Egyptian, Arabic Gulf, Arabic Lebanese, Arabic Moroccan, Armenian, Assamese, Azerbaijani, Basque, Belarusian, Bengali, Berber, Bosnian, Breton, Bulgarian, Burmese, Cantonese, Catalan, Cebuano, Chibemba, Chichewa, Chinese Mandarin, Cornish, Corsican, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dari, Dutch, Dzongkha, English, English Australian, English Canadian, English Cockney, English Indian, English Scottish, Esperanto, Estonian, Fijian, Finnish, Flemish, French, French Canadian, Galician, Georgian, German, German Swiss, Greek, Greek Ancient, Greenlandic, Gujarati, Haitian Creole, Hakka, Hausa, Hawaiian, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Igbo, Ilocano, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Javanese, Jerriais, Kachchi, Kannada, Kazakh, Khmer, Kinyarwanda, Kirundi, Korean, Kurdish Kurmanji, Kurdish Sorani, Kyrgyz, Ladino, Lao, Latin, Latvian, Lingala, Lithuanian, Luganda, Luxembourgish, Macedonian, Malagasy, Malay, Malayalam, Maltese, Manx, Maori, Marathi, Mongolian, Neapolitan, Nepali, Norwegian, Oriya, Oromo, Papiamento, Pashto, Penang, Persian, Pidgin Nigerian, Polish, Portuguese, Portuguese Brazilian, Punjabi Indian, Punjabi Pakistani, Quechua Cuzco, Romanian, Russian, Saami Southern, Samoan, Sanskrit, Sardinian, Scots, Scottish Gaelic, Serbian, Shona, Sicilian, Sindhi, Sinhala, Slovak, Slovenian, Somali, Southern Sotho, Spanish, Spanish Argentinian, Spanish Latin American, Swahili, Swedish, Tagalog, Tajiki, Tamil, Telugu, Thai, Tibetan, Tigrinya, Tok Pisin, Tswana, Tumbuka, Turkish, Turkmen, Ukrainian, Urdu, Uzbek, Vietnamese, Welsh, Wolof, Wu Shanghainese, Xhosa, Yoruba, Yucatec Mayan, Zulu |
| Free tier | Starter Words, a free 26-word pack in every language, plus an online demo at demo.utalk.com |
| Platforms | iOS, Android, Web |
| Offline mode | Yes |
| Speech recognition | No |
| Live tutoring | No |
| Placement test | No |
| Refund or trial | 28-day money-back guarantee |
| Company | uTalk (formerly EuroTalk), United Kingdom |
How uTalk compares
uTalk is strongest on the number of languages and offline use, weakest on teaching depth. Each criterion is scored out of 5 from what each app says about itself and from independent reviews, to compare apps that do the same job; it is not a review of the app. How we score.
| Feature | Score (of 5) | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Teaching depth | 2 | Phrase and vocabulary games with native-speaker audio in many languages |
| Speaking practice | 2 | No speaking practice |
| Language coverage | 5 | 160 languages |
| Free tier | 2 | The first lessons are free, the rest is paid |
| Price per month | 4 | From $24.99 a year $24.99 to $59.99 a year for one language, depending on the language |
| Trial and refund | 3.5 | A 28-day money-back guarantee |
| Offline use | 4.5 | Works offline |
| Staying power and bugs | 4 | Reviewers report people keep using it and few bugs |
Use the CEFR level guide to interpret the range above and compare published course levels.
Languages you can learn on uTalk
160 languages as listed by uTalk.
How far its courses go
- Spanish, French, French (Canadian), German, Italian, Portuguese (Brazilian), Portuguese (European), Quechua (Cuzco): A1 to A2; 2,500+ words and phrases in 60+ topics.
- Spanish (Latin American), Spanish (Argentinian): level not stated; 2,500+ words and phrases in 60+ topics.
- Japanese: A1 to A2; 2,500+ words and phrases in 60+ topics. Speaking first; the three scripts are not taught in depth.
- Korean: A1 to A2; 2,500+ words and phrases in 60+ topics. Speaking first, plus a topic on the alphabet.
- Mandarin (Simplified Chinese): A1 to A2; 2,500+ words and phrases in 60+ topics. Simplified characters.
- Cantonese (Traditional Chinese): level not stated; 2,500+ words and phrases in 60+ topics. Traditional characters.
- Arabic (Modern Standard): A1 to A2. Starts with the Arabic script.
- English (British): level not stated.
- Dutch, Turkish, Greek, Finnish, Hindi: A1 to A2.
Afrikaans, Albanian, Alsatian, American, Amharic, Arabic, Arabic Egyptian, Arabic Gulf, Arabic Lebanese, Arabic Moroccan, Armenian, Assamese, Azerbaijani, Basque, Belarusian, Bengali, Berber, Bosnian, Breton, Bulgarian, Burmese, Cantonese, Catalan, Cebuano, Chibemba, Chichewa, Chinese Mandarin, Cornish, Corsican, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dari, Dutch, Dzongkha, English, English Australian, English Canadian, English Cockney, English Indian, English Scottish, Esperanto, Estonian, Fijian, Finnish, Flemish, French, French Canadian, Galician, Georgian, German, German Swiss, Greek, Greek Ancient, Greenlandic, Gujarati, Haitian Creole, Hakka, Hausa, Hawaiian, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Igbo, Ilocano, Indonesian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Javanese, Jerriais, Kachchi, Kannada, Kazakh, Khmer, Kinyarwanda, Kirundi, Korean, Kurdish Kurmanji, Kurdish Sorani, Kyrgyz, Ladino, Lao, Latin, Latvian, Lingala, Lithuanian, Luganda, Luxembourgish, Macedonian, Malagasy, Malay, Malayalam, Maltese, Manx, Maori, Marathi, Mongolian, Neapolitan, Nepali, Norwegian, Oriya, Oromo, Papiamento, Pashto, Penang, Persian, Pidgin Nigerian, Polish, Portuguese, Portuguese Brazilian, Punjabi Indian, Punjabi Pakistani, Quechua Cuzco, Romanian, Russian, Saami Southern, Samoan, Sanskrit, Sardinian, Scots, Scottish Gaelic, Serbian, Shona, Sicilian, Sindhi, Sinhala, Slovak, Slovenian, Somali, Southern Sotho, Spanish, Spanish Argentinian, Spanish Latin American, Swahili, Swedish, Tagalog, Tajiki, Tamil, Telugu, Thai, Tibetan, Tigrinya, Tok Pisin, Tswana, Tumbuka, Turkish, Turkmen, Ukrainian, Urdu, Uzbek, Vietnamese, Welsh, Wolof, Wu Shanghainese, Xhosa, Yoruba, Yucatec Mayan, Zulu
Compare uTalk
- Best app to learn Spanish: choose by goal and level
- Best app to learn French: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn German: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Italian: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Japanese: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Korean: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Chinese (Mandarin): every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Cantonese: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Portuguese: Brazilian or European, every app compared
- Best app to learn Arabic: Modern Standard or a dialect, every app compared
- Best app to learn English: courses, tutors and AI speaking practice compared
- Best app to learn Hindi: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Dutch: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Polish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Turkish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Swedish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Greek: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best app to learn Vietnamese: Northern or Southern, every app compared
- Best app to learn Finnish: every app that teaches it, compared
- Best language apps for speaking practice, compared
- Best vocabulary and flashcard apps, compared
- Best apps to learn Spanish vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn German vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn Italian vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn French vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn Portuguese vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn Japanese vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn Korean vocabulary, compared
- Best apps to learn Chinese vocabulary, compared
- Best language apps for travel, compared
- Best apps to learn Spanish for a trip, compared
- Best apps to learn Japanese for a trip, compared
- Best apps to learn Italian for a trip, compared
- Best apps to learn hangul, compared
- uTalk against any other app, side by side
- What uTalk will cost you for the months you study
- All 99 apps in one table
References
- uTalk: Spanish plans and prices (checked 13 Oct 2026)
- uTalk: languages (checked 6 Sept 2026)
- uTalk help: the free demo (checked 6 Sept 2026)
- uTalk: Spanish course (checked 6 Sept 2026)
- uTalk: about
- Awin: uTalk's affiliate programme (checked 6 Sept 2026)
- The Mezzofanti Guild, the reviewer used the app (1 Sept 2026)
- All Language Resources, the reviewer used the app (12 Nov 2025)