Course app

Babbel

Short structured lessons with grammar notes and review sessions. Structured course app with short lessons, grammar notes, review sessions and speech-recognition practice.

The cheapest published subscription works out to $8.95/mo (12 months, $107.40); the monthly plan is $17.99; a lifetime plan is $299.99 one-time.

Figures read from Babbel's own pages; newest read 2026-09-06. Nothing on this page is a test or a rating.

14 languagesFree tierSpeech recognitionLive tutoring not statedOffline mode not statedA1 to C1

Links to apps on this page are plain, untracked links to the vendor. This site is funded by affiliate links: if an app's programme is joined, its link will earn a commission at no cost to you and will be listed on the affiliate disclosure page. Commercial relationships never affect order or inclusion; tables sort by price. Affiliate disclosure and how the data is collected.

Published plans

Every consumer plan on Babbel's own pricing page or app-store listing on the read date, in US dollars unless marked. Per month is the plan price divided by its term; promotions are noted, never used for the figure.

PlanBillingPricePer monthCoversSource
12 monthsMarked 'Save 50%'. The struck-through $215.40 is a reference price the page defines as the total cost of a recurring 1-month subscription over the same period, not a regular annual price. Apple's US listing shows a matching in-app purchase, All Languages - 12-month plan $107.99.Annual$107.40$8.95/moall languagesvendor pageread 2026-09-06
3-month plan (iOS in-app purchase)In-app purchase price from Apple's US App Store listing; the per-language SKU was read for Spanish.Every 3 months$45.99$15.33/moone languagevendor pageread 2026-09-06
1-month plan (iOS in-app purchase)babbel.com/prices shows only the 12-month and Lifetime plans; the other durations sit behind a 'Show all plans' control and their prices are not present in the served page, so this figure comes from Apple's US App Store in-app purchase list.Monthly$17.99$17.99/moone languagevendor pageread 2026-09-06
LifetimeA banner on the same page offered Lifetime at a promotional $199 today: 'Labor Day Sale! Get Lifetime for $199'.Lifetime$299.99one-timeall languagesvendor pageread 2026-09-06

See current prices on Babbel's site (opens the vendor; prices can change after the read date)

What Babbel publishes about itself

Facts about Babbel, each with the vendor page it was read from and the date
FactAs publishedSource
CEFR levels statedA1 to C1 (Course ceilings vary by language: the catalog includes A1-only course coverage and Spanish courses reaching C1.)vendor pageread 2026-09-06
What it isCourse app. Structured course app with short lessons, grammar notes, review sessions and speech-recognition practice.none
Languages offered14: Danish, Dutch, English, French, German, Indonesian, Italian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkishvendor pageread 2026-09-06
Free tierFree account; the first lesson of every course is free, and up to 80 free lessons depending on the language.vendor pageread 2026-09-06
PlatformsiOS, Android, Webvendor pageread 2026-09-06
Offline modeNot statednone
Speech recognitionYesvendor pageread 2026-09-06
Live tutoringNot statednone
Placement testNot statednone
Refund or trialNot statednone
CompanyBabbel GmbH (Lesson Nine GmbH), Germany, founded 2007vendor pageread 2026-09-06

Languages you can learn on Babbel

14 languages as listed by Babbel.

Danish, Dutch, English, French, German, Indonesian, Italian, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish

Compare Babbel

Affiliate programme and how this page links out

Babbel runs an affiliate programme through Impact (Babbel Partner Program); the North and South America program is run through Perform[cb], published as "up to 75€ commission for every sale of a Babbel App subscription". This site has not joined it: the links on this page are plain, untracked links to Babbel, and they would stay in the same place, in the same order, if that changed. Source: programme page, read 2026-09-06.

Sources

Wrong or out of date? Write to contact with the vendor page that shows the correct value.