Best app to learn Hindi: every app that teaches it, compared
नमस्तेnuh-MUS-tay“hello” in Hindi
Start free with Duolingo's Hindi course, or with Pimsleur ($149.95 a year) to speak from the first lesson without reading. To read and write Devanagari, Rocket Hindi has a whole series of lessons on the script and Rosetta Stone's lessons introduce it. LingoDeer ($95.99 a year) has a course from A1 to B1, Glossika (about $199 a year) sentences up to C1, and italki and Preply have Hindi tutors.
Prices checked 6 Sept to 12 Oct 2026 · How we check
Our picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to the app makers' own sites earn us nothing. Commissions never affect which apps we recommend. Affiliate disclosure and how the data is collected.
-
Best to start speaking
Pimsleur
Audio course
$149.95 a year$12.50 a month, billed yearly · Premium
Why it's here. Half-hour audio lessons get you answering aloud, which suits a commute or a walk. Download lessons before you leave and you can practise without a connection.
Free: No free tier; 7-day free trial on subscriptions.
Skip it if you want to read and write, or want something free: it is audio first, with a 7-day trial.
Audio lessons of 30 minutes, starting at Level 1 with no reading needed.
-
Best free start
Duolingo
Course app
FreeEvery course, with ads and daily limits.
Why it's here. Short, game-like lessons make it easy to practise a little every day. You can follow the whole course free, with ads and limits.
Paid upgrade: Super removes the ads and limits: $9.99 to $119.99 in Apple's US App Store, depending on the plan, after a 1-week free trial.
Skip it if you want a person to talk to: Duolingo has no tutors, and Max's Video Call is an AI character.
A free Hindi course, with ads.
-
Best for a Hindi speaker to teach you
italki
Tutor marketplace
Set by each teacheritalki's Hindi page gives no typical price
Why it's here. Choose a teacher for the language and conversation you need, then pay lesson by lesson. You get a real person to practise with without committing to an app subscription.
Free: No free tier; discounted trial lesson with a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee.
Skip it if you want one fixed price or an app to study alone: each teacher sets their own rate.
104 languages
22 of the 41 apps we cover list Hindi; 17 of them have a free tier.
Hindi is written in Devanagari, a script of its own, so the first choice is whether to start by ear or by reading. Its spelling follows the sound closely, which makes the script quicker to learn than it looks. Spoken Hindi is largely understood by Urdu speakers too; the two differ most in writing, as Urdu uses a Perso-Arabic script. Neither Babbel nor Busuu teaches Hindi.
What a year of Hindi costs
Every app that teaches Hindi and sells a yearly plan, cheapest first, from the plans on each app's own pages. Not on it, because they sell no yearly plan in dollars: Gus on the Go, italki, Preply and Rocket Languages.
The yearly planPaying month to month for 12 monthsA price range; the app doesn't say which plan costs what
- Duolingoevery course free; Super's plan lengths not given $0 · Super $9.99 to $119.99 in the App Store
- uTalkone language about $30 · $59.88 if you pay monthly
- Tandemall its languages · free tier $39.99
- Mondlyone language · free tier $47.99 · $119.88 if you pay monthly
- Memriseall its languages · free tier $61.99 · $299.88 if you pay monthly
- Dropsall its languages · free tier $69.99 · $132 if you pay monthly
- Clozemasterall its languages · free tier $79.99 · $155.88 if you pay monthly
- HelloTalkall its languages · free tier $79.99 · $155.88 if you pay monthly
- LingoDeerall its languages · free tier $95.99 · $179.88 if you pay monthly
- LingQall its languages · free tier $119.99 · $179.88 if you pay monthly
- Talkpalall its languages · free tier $119.99 · $239.88 if you pay monthly
- Mango Languagesall its languages about $120 · $167.88 if you pay monthly
- Pimsleurone language $149.95 · $239.40 if you pay monthly
- Languaall its languages · free tier $149.99 · $239.88 if you pay monthly
- Lingall its languages · free tier $149.99 · $203.88 if you pay monthly
- Rosetta Stoneall its languages $159 · $239.88 if you pay monthly
- Dinolingoall 50 languages, up to 6 children $199 · $228 if you pay monthly
- Glossikaone language about $199 · $239.88 if you pay monthly
How far each Hindi course goes
Each app's Hindi course as its maker describes it: the level it says the course reaches, and how big it is. 3 of the 7 courses state a CEFR level; the rest use their own levels or state none. A course's level is what its lessons cover, not proof that you will reach it. Sizes are each maker's own measure (words, hours, lessons or units), so they cannot be compared directly. Read from each maker's pages on 12 Oct 2026. What the CEFR levels mean.
| App and course | How far it goes | How big it is | Writing system |
|---|---|---|---|
| GlossikaHindi · Glossika: Hindi course | A1 to C1 | 5,000+ words and sentences | Not stated |
| LingoDeerHindi · LingoDeer: Hindi course | A1 to B1 | Not stated | Not stated |
| uTalkHindi · uTalk: Hindi | A1 to A2 | Not stated | Not stated |
The other 4 Hindi courses: their own levels, or none stated
| App and course | How far it goes | How big it is | Writing system |
|---|---|---|---|
| PimsleurHindi · Pimsleur: Hindi | Levels 1 to 5 | 30 daily lessons a level, about 15 hours eachpimsleur.com: lifetime subscription | Not stated |
| LingQHindi library · LingQ: learn Hindi | Not stated | Thousands of hours of audio lessons with transcripts | Not stated |
| Rocket LanguagesRocket Hindi · Rocket Languages: Rocket Hindi | Not stated | Not stated | Lessons on reading and writing Devanagari |
| Rosetta StoneHindi · Rosetta Stone help: course contents | Not stated | 12 units | Introduces the Devanagari scriptRosetta Stone: learn Hindi |
Every app that teaches Hindi
Recommended first within each type of app. Sort any column or filter by what matters to you.
No apps match these filters. Clear a filter to see more choices.
| Best for | Free tier | Speech | Tutor | Offline | CEFR | Refund or trial | Where to buy | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Course apps | |||||||||||
| DuolingoCourse appSuper in the US App Store: $9.99 to $119.99, depending on the plan. | A free daily habit | Freepaid tier priced in-app | — | — | Free to keep using Full free tier with ads and limits; Super removes the ads and limits, and Max adds AI practice (Video Call and Roleplay). | Yes | No | Yes · Limited lessons available offline; progress syncs when connected | A1 to B2 | 1 week free trial on Super | |
| Mango LanguagesCourse app | Free through many public libraries | About $120 a year$10 a month, billed yearly | $13.99 | — | Free sample Free trial on both personal plans; the first lesson of any language is free; 10 endangered and indigenous language courses are free; free full access through participating public libraries | No | No | Yes | A1 to B1by course | Free trial on Individual and Family plans; cancel before it ends and you are not charged | |
| LingCourse app | Asian and less-taught languages | $149.99 a year$12.50 a month, billed yearly | $16.99 | — | Free to keep using Free tier with limited lessons and limited dialogue practice, with ads | Yes | Live online tutors, booked separately through Ling Live. | — | — | 7-day free trial on the 12-month plan; 30-day money-back refund for yearly and lifetime subscriptions bought via Ling web (app-store purchases follow Apple's or Google's refund policy) | |
| LingoDeerCourse app | Grammar-led lessons, with alphabet units for Japanese and Korean | $95.99 a year$8 a month, billed yearly | $14.99 | — | Free to keep using A free version with limited lessons; a membership unlocks every course and feature. | — | — | Yes | A1 to B1by course | A 7-day money-back guarantee on yearly and longer plans bought on LingoDeer's website, one request per person; no refund for part of a period or a renewal you forgot. | |
| Rocket LanguagesCourse app | Paying once per level, not a subscription | $149.95Rocket Hindi | — | $149.95 | Free trial A free trial; the page does not say what it includes or for how long. | Yes | No | Yes · audio lessons download in the app; voice recognition needs a connection | A1 to B2by course | A free trial; 60-day money-back guarantee on purchases. | |
| Rosetta StoneCourse app | Immersion without translation | $159 a year$13.25 a month, billed yearly | $19.99 | — | Free sample Free sample lessons on its site; no lasting free plan. | Yes | Coaching sessions with a Rosetta Stone certified tutor. | Yes | — | 14-day money-back guarantee | |
| MondlyCourse app | A cheap yearly plan across many languages | $47.99 a year$4 a month, billed yearly | $9.99one language | — | Free to keep using Free version with Daily Lessons, the Hello category and a chatbot lesson. | — | — | — | A1 to B2by course | 7-day free trial | |
| DinolingoCourse app | Children from 2 to 14, in 50 languages | $199 a year$16.58 a month, billed yearly | $19 | — | Free trial No | — | — | — | — | A 7-day free trial; cancel before it ends and nothing is charged. | |
| Gus on the GoCourse app | A toddler's first words, bought once | — | — | — | No | — | — | — | — | — | |
| Audio courses | |||||||||||
| PimsleurAudio course | Audio lessons for a commute | $149.95 a year$12.50 a month, billed yearly | $19.95one language | $798 | No | Yes | — | Yes | — | 7-day free trial on subscriptions; 30 Day money back guarantee on purchases | |
| GlossikaAudio course | Sentence drills by ear | About $199 a year$16.58 a month, billed yearly | $19.99one language | — | Free trial 7-day full access with no credit card, plus a permanent Freemium tier covering nine minoritized languages | No | No | Yes | A1 to C1by course | 7-day free trial with no credit card; monthly payments are non-refundable, annual plans refundable pro rata within 60 days of purchase | |
| Vocabulary and flashcard apps | |||||||||||
| ClozemasterVocabulary and flashcards | Free vocabulary practice in context | $79.99 a year$6.67 a month, billed yearly | $12.99 | — | Free to keep using Free account with up to 30 sentences a day; Pro adds unlimited play and advanced features | — | — | Yes · on Pro, in the mobile app | — | 30-day money back guarantee on the Yearly plan; no refunds on Monthly plans | |
| uTalkVocabulary and flashcards | Phrases in 160 languages | About $30 a year$2.50 a month, billed yearly | $4.99 | — | Free sample Starter Words, a free 26-word pack in every language, plus an online demo at demo.utalk.com | No | No | Yes | A1 to A2by course | 28-day money-back guarantee | |
| MemriseVocabulary and flashcards | Native-speaker clips and review | $61.99 a year$5.17 a month, billed yearly | $24.99 | $329.99 | Free to keep using Limited free version of the app; the paid plan unlocks the rest. | Yes | — | No · The current experience needs cloud-based tools | — | 30-day money-back guarantee; monthly plans have a 14-day refund window. Apple purchases require a refund from Apple. | |
| DropsVocabulary and flashcards | Five-minute vocabulary sessions | $69.99 a year$5.83 a month, billed yearly | $11 | $150 | Free to keep using Free access capped at 5 minutes of play every 10 hours, with topics unlocked one at a time through gameplay | — | — | Yes | — | 7-day free trial on the Yearly plan; affiliate terms reference a 14-day refund period | |
| Learning from real video, text and audio | |||||||||||
| LingQImmersion (video, reading) | Reading and listening to real content | $119.99 a year$10 a month, billed yearly | $14.99 | — | Free to keep using Free account capped at 20 saved words and phrases, 5 lessons created from imported content, and 1 audio playlist | — | — | Yes | — | Full refund during the first 30 days of an initial Premium subscription; no partial-month or unused-month refunds afterward. | |
| AI conversation practice | |||||||||||
| TalkpalAI conversation practice | AI conversation practice in many languages | $119.99 a year$10 a month, billed yearly | $19.99 | — | Free to keep using The Basic plan: 10 minutes of chat a day, with progress tracking and pronunciation checks. | Yes | No | No | — | A 14-day free trial for new users. Bought from Talkpal directly: a full refund if you ask within 30 days of a charge; not for app store purchases. | |
| LanguaAI conversation practice | Natural-sounding AI conversation practice | $149.99 a year$12.50 a month, billed yearly | $19.99 | — | Free to keep using A free version with low limits: 3 minutes of calls a day and about 20 chat messages a week. | Yes | Human tutors on LanguaTalk, booked separately from Langua; each tutor sets a price per lesson. | — | — | A Pro trial (5 days on a monthly plan, 7 on a yearly one; card needed), and a 30-day money-back guarantee on web and Google Play subscriptions; App Store ones follow Apple's rules. | |
| Tutors and live classes | |||||||||||
| italkiTutor marketplace | Tutors priced per lesson | Set by each teacheritalki's Hindi page gives no typical price | — | — | No | — | Every lesson is live and one to one; italki also sells group classes. | — | — | Discounted trial lesson with a 100% Satisfaction Guarantee: up to two credit refunds on trial lessons if the teacher did not show up or did not meet expectations, requested within 48 hours | |
| PreplyTutor marketplace | Weekly lessons with one tutor | Set by each tutorPreply's Hindi page gives no typical price | — | — | No | — | Every lesson is live and one to one. | — | — | Paid trial lesson; up to 2 free trial replacements per account (a new trial with a different tutor at no charge) if the trial did not meet expectations; a tutor who did not join is handled separately, with no limit | |
| Language exchange | |||||||||||
| TandemLanguage exchange | Language exchange with native speakers | $39.99 a year$3.33 a month, billed yearly | — | — | Free to keep using Free account with many features; Tandem Pro unlocks the rest | No | No | — | — | Google Play purchases refundable within 14 days of a 1-month subscription or 30 days of a 3-month or 12-month subscription; iOS refunds requested from iTunes within 14 days | |
| HelloTalkLanguage exchange | Chatting with native speakers | $79.99 a year$6.67 a month, billed yearly | $12.99 | — | Free to keep using Free account with ads and daily limits (for example ten translations a day); occasional randomly offered 3-day VIP trials | — | No | Yes | — | Occasional randomly offered 3-day free VIP trial; refunds handled by Apple or Google for in-app purchases | |
Which to choose
You want to speak before you read
Pimsleur
Pimsleur's Hindi starts at Level 1 and assumes nothing: 30-minute audio lessons in which you answer aloud. Premium is $149.95 a year for one language, after a 7-day free trial.
You want to read and write Devanagari
Rocket Hindi, Rosetta Stone or LingoDeer
Rocket Hindi has a whole series of lessons on reading and writing Devanagari, for $149.95 once. Rosetta Stone's Hindi, 12 units, introduces the script with its first vocabulary, for $159 a year. LingoDeer's Hindi course runs from A1 to B1, for $95.99 a year.
You want a free course
Duolingo
Duolingo's Hindi course is free with ads. uTalk's Starter Words are free in Hindi too, and its full course takes you to A1 to A2 in everyday topics.
You want to go further, or talk with people
Glossika, a tutor, or HelloTalk
Glossika's Hindi runs from A1 to C1 in 5,000+ sentences recorded by native speakers, for about $199 a year. italki and Preply both list Hindi tutors, who set their own price for a lesson, and HelloTalk and Tandem pair you free with Hindi speakers learning your language.
Questions people ask
What is the best app to learn Hindi?
To speak first, Pimsleur; for free, Duolingo; to read and write Devanagari, Rocket Hindi or Rosetta Stone; for a course with CEFR levels, LingoDeer (A1 to B1) or Glossika (up to C1). Add a tutor on italki or Preply to talk. The table lists every app that teaches Hindi, with its price.
Do I need to learn the Devanagari script?
Not to start speaking: Pimsleur's audio lessons need no reading. To read signs, menus or messages, yes, and because Hindi spelling follows the sound closely, the script is more regular than it looks. Rocket Hindi and Rosetta Stone teach it in their lessons.
Is Hindi the same as Urdu?
Spoken everyday Hindi and Urdu are largely understood by each other's speakers. They differ most in writing, Devanagari for Hindi and a Perso-Arabic script for Urdu, and in formal vocabulary.