Head to head
Memrise vs Duolingo: vocabulary app against course app
This is not two versions of the same thing. Memrise is a vocabulary app: short video clips of native speakers saying real phrases, then spaced-repetition review. Duolingo is a course app with a free tier. They fit together better than they compete.
Links to apps on this page are plain, untracked links to the vendor. This site is funded by affiliate links: if an app's programme is joined, its link will earn a commission at no cost to you and will be listed on the affiliate disclosure page. Commercial relationships never affect order or inclusion; tables sort by price. Affiliate disclosure and how the data is collected.
Side by side
| As published | Memrise | Duolingo |
|---|---|---|
| CEFR levels stated | not stated | A1 to B2 |
| What it is | Vocabulary and flashcards: Short video clips of native speakers plus spaced-repetition review | Course app: Gamified free lessons; paid tiers remove ads and add practice features |
| Per month at annual billing | $5.17/mo ($61.99 a year) | not published |
| Monthly plan | $24.99 | not published |
| Lifetime plan | $329.99 one-time | none |
| Free tier | Limited free version of the app; the paid plan unlocks the rest. | Full free tier with ads and limits; paid tiers remove ads and limits. |
| Languages offered | 149 | 40 |
| Speech recognition | Yes | Not stated |
| Live tutoring | Not stated | No |
| Offline mode | Not stated | Not stated |
| Placement test | Not stated | Not stated |
| Refund or trial | not stated | 1 week free trial on Super |
| Platforms | iOS, Android, Web | iOS, Android, Web |
| Company | Memrise, United Kingdom | Duolingo, Inc |
Which one, for whom
You understand the grammar but freeze on real speech
Memrise
Memrise's clips are people on the street saying the phrase at normal speed, which is the thing textbooks and most apps do not give you. Its annual plan was $61.99 on the read date, or $5.17 a month for all languages, shown as a flash-sale price beside a crossed-out $299.88; the monthly plan is $24.99 and there is a $329.99 lifetime plan. The free version is limited; the paid plan unlocks the rest. Memrise states speech recognition; Duolingo's page does not.
You are starting from zero
Duolingo first, Memrise alongside
A vocabulary app assumes you have something to hang the words on. Duolingo's free tier gives you the skeleton of the language for nothing; Memrise fills it with phrases you will hear. If the budget is one subscription, spend it on Memrise once you are past the first few weeks, because that is when the extra listening starts to pay.
You are buying on price
Duolingo free; Memrise only on the annual plan
Memrise's monthly price is among the highest in this dataset at $24.99; its annual price is among the lowest per month at $5.17. The monthly plan is for a specific trip or exam, not for a year of learning. Duolingo costs nothing until you decide the ads are worth removing, at a price you can only see in the app.
Every published plan
Memrise
| Plan | Billing | Price | Per month | Covers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AnnualProShown as a flash-sale price ($61.99) next to a crossed-out $299.88, under a countdown reading 'Flash sale ends in 57:07'. The $299.88 reference equals 12 months at the $24.99 monthly rate; no separate regular annual price is published. Apple's US listing shows Annual Language Learning Plan $61.99. | Annual | $61.99 | $5.17/mo | all languages |
| MonthlyProApple's US listing shows a matching in-app purchase, Monthly Language Learning Plan $24.99. | Monthly | $24.99 | $24.99/mo | all languages |
| LifetimeProApple's US listing shows a matching in-app purchase, Lifetime Plan $329.99. | Lifetime | $329.99 | one-time | all languages |
Duolingo
| Plan | Billing | Price | Per month | Covers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FreeThe comparison table lists the free tier alongside Super and Super Family; the row markers for which features each tier includes are images, not text. | Other | $0 | $0/mo | all languages |
| Super DuolingoSuperApple's US App Store listing shows Super Duolingo in-app purchases at $9.99, $12.99, $79.99, $83.99, $95.99 and $119.99, but does not say which figure is monthly, annual or Family, so no price is recorded here. | Other | not published | not published | all languagesDuolingo publishes no price on its website; the Super page shows only a 'Start my 1 week free' call to action and prices appear at checkout or in the app |
| Super FamilyTier and seat count are published; the price is not. | Family | not published | not published | family up to 6no price for the Family plan is shown anywhere on duolingo.com; the plan page shows only a free-trial call to action |
| Duolingo MaxMaxMax is sold only inside the iOS and Android apps, so no web price exists to read; Apple's US listing did not show a Max in-app purchase in the ten entries it displays. | Other | not published | not published | all languagesDuolingo Max is only purchasable in the mobile apps and no price is published on duolingo.com |
Questions people ask
Is Memrise better than Duolingo?
They do different jobs. Memrise is a vocabulary and listening app with native-speaker video and spaced repetition; Duolingo is a course app with a free tier. A learner who has the basics and wants real speech gets more from Memrise; a beginner gets more from Duolingo for free.
How much does Memrise cost?
On the read date, $24.99 a month, $61.99 a year ($5.17 a month, shown as a flash-sale price) or $329.99 for a lifetime plan, all languages included, from app.memrise.com.
Does Memrise have an affiliate programme?
No. Memrise's own help centre states it does not offer one, so the links to Memrise on this site are plain links and earn nothing.